We love Photography!

20 years of Art Collection Deutsche Börse

Evelyn Hofer, Phoenix Park on a Sunday, Dublin, 1966 © The Estate of Evelyn Hofer

1 February until 24 May 2019
Deutsche Börse AG, The Cube, Eschborn

In 2019 we are celebrating the 20th anniversary of the Art Collection Deutsche Börse with numerous exhibitions and events. Under the motto "From another perspective", we invited experts to share their view on the collection with us. This way, a varied, constantly changing insight into the most important positions of the Art Collection Deutsche Börse is formed.

The anniversary program kicked off with the exhibition "We love Photography!" curated by British photographer Martin Parr, which showcased around 130 works by 56 artists that he selected from the Art Collection Deutsche Börse. The exhibition featured big names in the history of photography such as Walker Evans or Diane Arbus as well as trailblazers in documentary photography, for example Bruce Davidson, Philip Jones Griffiths and Susan Meiselas. It also extended to younger artists such as Mike Brodie, Beate Gütschow and Geert Goiris.

"Photography, as we all know, seems to be the art form in modern times. Through photography, the individual can demonstrate and explore their relationship with our complex, ever-changing world. Art Collection Deutsche Börse represents most of the significant developments in photography in recent years.", Martin Parr said about his selection.

British artist Martin Parr is considered one of the most important personalities of contemporary photography. He is a member of the acclaimed photographic cooperative Magnum Photos, a curator, collector, and has established his own photography foundation, the Martin Parr Foundation. Parr's work has been represented in the Art Collection Deutsche Börse for many years.

Artists: Diane Arbus, Jessica Backhaus, Peter Bialobrzeski, Werner Bischof, Anna & Bernhard Blume, Mike Brodie, Joachim Brohm, Gerd Danigel, Bruce Davidson, John Davies, Phillipp-Lorca diCorcia, Nikos Economopoulos, Mitch Epstein, Walker Evans, Peter Fischli und David Weiss, Lucas Foglia, Alberto Garcia Alix, Geert Goiris, David Goldblatt, Paul Graham, Philip Jones Griffiths, Andreas Gursky, Beate Gütschow, Jitka Hanzlova, Thomas Hoepker, Evelyn Hofer, Roni Horn, Pieter Hugo, Seydou Keita, Dana Lixenberg, Vivian Maier, Susan Meiselas, Boris Mikhailov, Richard Mosse, Zanele Muholi, Simon Norfolk, Arnold Odermatt, Gordon Parks, Heinrich Riebesehl, Simon Roberts, Malte Sänger, Sebastiao Salgado, Pentti Sammallathi, Jörg Sasse, Wilhelm Schürmann, Alfred Seiland, Stephen Shore, Malick Sidibè, Gunnar Smoliansky, Joel Sternfeld, John Stezaker, Thomas Struth, Joseph Szabo, Guy Tillim und Tobias Zielony.


Installation shots "We love Photography!"

The Cube Eschborn, 2019 © Albrecht Haag Fotografie